Games on Xbox One

Hi! My name is John Bruno ? I am a Lead Program Manager from the Xbox Live team. For as long as I can remember, games have been part of my life. Whether it was playing my Commodore 64 in my basement as a young kid, feeding my spare quarters into arcade machines in the 1980s, or playing ?Project Gotham Racing? on the original Xbox - I have always enjoyed playing video games. We?ve obviously come a long way with games since I started playing, and for me personally, it has been an incredible experience bringing Xbox One to life and supporting the forthcoming game titles that are launching on this console generation. I?m especially proud of what our team has been working on with Xbox Live Compute, and I?m glad to finally be able to share more details with you as part of the ?Week of Xbox Live!?

As you have heard over the course of the past weeks, Xbox One will benefit greatly from the power of the Xbox Live cloud. This obviously represents a broad Microsoft commitment that spans a number of scenarios, all intended to bring the best of entertainment and gaming experiences that our game creators have to offer. Xbox Live Compute represents one of the ways that games will be better on Xbox One. This service is specifically designed to enable game creators to utilize the scalable computing resources that Microsoft deploys within our regional datacenters, to enhance their game experiences beyond what is generally possible with the finite resources of a console. This sounds great, but what does it really mean for gamers and developers?

Well, for starters let?s talk about what the Xbox Live cloud is all about. Simply stated, it?s about massive numbers of high-powered servers running in Microsoft datacenters all over the world ? all performing various computing workloads. At Microsoft, running hundreds of thousands of servers that power experiences like Bing, Skype, or Xbox Live is in our DNA.