best linux for beginners

whats the best distro for the beginners, I'm very used to windows and I'd like something easy to use and straightforward as I have no experience with unix

It depends on what kind of "beginner" you are. Do you want to jump in and learn Linux? Or do you want to use it and never see or use a command prompt?

This thread

https://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=314058

may help with some general comments and preferences Neowin users have already expressed.

I wanna use it for gaming and to be like windows, but I want the option to use the prompt when I get a little more into it

While you can play some games on Linux distros, Linux isn't for gaming. Try Xandros 3.0 OCE, it's easy to install, easy to use, and a lot like Windows. OCE is free.

Quoting myself:

I tend to think of

Beginners users' distros (not marketed toward upgrade-aholics who need the latest and greatest Xorg, the newest KDE the minute the developers finish it, or the newest kernel):

Xandros

Linspire

Intermediate users' distros:

Ubuntu

Mandrake

Fedora

Suse

...a whole bunch of others...

Advanced users' distros:

Slackware

Gentoo

This is just one man's opinion. :book:

And before you make a committment to anything, you might want to check out some Live CDs where you can boot into Linux running off of the CD.

I disagree when you say gentoo is an advanced user's ditro. Sure, its a living hell to get it running, but the handbook is an exceptional guide! It makes it look kinda easy! I must confess, after using Fedora Core 3 for a while (and i rely a bit on the prompt) i confess i learned more on 2 or 3 gentoo installs (failed or not) than on the time I used fedora. Still, you gotta want to get it running, or you'll give up when X.org gets installed :D

I'd say gentoo is for the mid-user that wants to learn the hard way :ninja:

I jumped straight in with Gentoo a few months ago, glad I did too... The best way to learn :yes:

585924744[/snapback]