Bad scan quality [Picture included]

Question

Good evening

This christmas I recieved a HP PSC 2355 all-in-one printer. Since I'm a hobby photographer I tried to scan some of my developed pictures, but the quality is aweful. I know - it certanly isn't the best scanner, but it must be able to svan better since my father has almost the same scanner, but older - and the quality from that one is much better.

How can I deal with this in Photoshop? Or... is there any setting I can change in the scan-settings?

Below I post a sample of how the scan looks like. Thank you in advance

bad_scan.jpg

(It's the green/red vertical lines that I don't like...)

11 answers to this question

try using the HP built in utilitys, like the HP Director, or HP Image Editor, they have worked fine for me in the past. i then run then through a photo editing program.

Yes, I have tried. There's a lot of settings, and I've tried to increase the DPI, adjusting color tone, brightness etc but it wont get better than my sample.

Anyone know anything to do? :huh:

Thank you for you try, but... it must be possible to make it even better. I can still see the lines...

wow thats bad, i have a scanner from 97 that came with a powermac thatdoes better than that lol

Exactly! I can't believe it's this bad on purpose, since its so new. Must be some setting...

Unfortunately, without going in and stamping everything out and spending a ton of time on it, thats about as good as its going to get. Tried my hand at it, looks a little better than mail's, but still far from perfect.

bad_scan.png

Unfortunately, without going in and stamping everything out and spending a ton of time on it, thats about as good as its going to get. Tried my hand at it, looks a little better than mail's, but still far from perfect.

bad_scan.png

That's actually rather good. You wouldn't mind telling me how you did it?

do u have a photo of something a bit more recognizeable to scan?