[OSx86] My successful hackintosh install

My compaq laptop died a while ago due to a video card fail. Since I'm studying graphics design I figured it was worthwhile buying the components to make my own mac so that I can use the OS that the industry uses. This is what I bought:-

post-18827-1248217333.png

Edit:- The CPU is actually an E7600

It cost me just over $AU1,000, which is pretty good going for Australia.

To get me started I used weaksauce's guide, which is the best hackintosh install guide on the net bar none. You can find it here.

I started by first downloading all programs in the guide and burning them to disc, then printing each page of the guide so I could read through it as I was going.

When installing, the only change I had to make to weaksauce's guide was in the BIOS where my SATA mode would only work on "Enhanced" - weaksauce recommended setting it to auto.

Once I got to the mac desktop I ran all software updates. I downloaded Mac OSX 10.5.7 update before I started the project and burnt it to DVD so it would be a quicker install. There were a few restarts involved until all the software was up-to-date.

Once that was done I ran the driver install program that weaksauce created, followed by another restart. Because I had a 1GB 9800GT it wasn't supported by weaksauce's program, so I just followed the guide to install the driver found here.

After another restart I opened up weaksauce's magic boot disk and ran the "about this mac modifier" program. It let my type in the correct name of my CPU and RAM so that it would look nice whenever I click on "about this mac".

Once that was done I was off and running! No more updates needed everything runs as if it was a genuine mac computer! It works super fast and I couldn't be happier!

The good news is that if you want to build a hackintosh but don't know where to start, weaksauce has a few other guides on his site, as well as system recipes for computer configurations that work well.