visual basic 2010

Question

HI,

I am a newbie programmer. I am trying to write an array to a text file. The array gets its data from a linq query using .ToArray. Everytime the array goes to file I get this in the file: VB$AnonymousType_5`4[system.String,System.String,System.String,System.String][]

My code snippet is this:

Dim search As String

search = InputBox("Enter search string")

If File.Exists("MyData.txt") Then

Dim myfile() As String = File.ReadAllLines("MyData.txt")

Dim query1 = From line In myfile

Let Data = line.Split(":"c)

Let iname = Data(0)

Let idescrip = Data(1)

Let ilocation = Data(2)

Let ivalue = FormatCurrency(Data(3))

Where (search <> iname)

Select iname, idescrip, ilocation, ivalue

Dim newFile() = query1.ToArray

lstDisplay.Items.Add(newFile)

Dim myfile2 = File.CreateText("MyData.txt")

Dim outputLine = newFile

myfile2.WriteLine(outputLine)

myfile2.Close()

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :blink:

12 answers to this question

It's an array of what?

Assuming it's an array of strings, you can simply use the System.IO.File.WriteAllLines() method, passing in the name of the file and the result of your query.

If it's some other type of object then you can't simply write that to a text file, how is .NET supposed to know how you want it written? It'll just write the name of the type, which in case of a LINQ query is an anonymous compiler-generated enumerable type (VB$AnonymousType_5`4[system.String,System.String,System.String,System.String][]) - actually, looking at that type definition, it does appear to be an enumerable of strings, so File.WriteAllLines() should do the trick.

To make things more clear:

File.WriteLine(x) will call x.ToString(), which in most cases is the name of the type of x. Exceptions to that rule would be the String type itself, numeric types, and any type that overrides ToString() to provide a more meaningful string representation.